Calculate your Georgia State University GPA with the official University System of Georgia grade-point table: A+ counts 4.30, an A counts 4.00, and the result is truncated to two decimals. A WF is scored exactly like an F.
| Grade | Credit hours |
|---|
Enter the credit hours for each course. Georgia State follows the University System of Georgia scale, where an A+ is worth 4.30 — the one grade that can lift a term average above the 4.00 ceiling.
| Grade | Grade points | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| A+ | 4.30 | The only grade above 4.00 in the USG scale — it can push a term average past a perfect 4.00 |
| A | 4.00 | Excellent |
| A- | 3.70 | |
| B+ | 3.30 | |
| B | 3.00 | Good |
| B- | 2.70 | |
| C+ | 2.30 | |
| C | 2.00 | Satisfactory |
| C- | 1.70 | |
| D | 1.00 | Passing |
| F | 0.00 | Failure — a WF (withdrew failing) is scored the same 0.00 |
| Input | Result |
|---|---|
| A (3cr) + B+ (4cr) + A− (3cr) + B (4cr) | 3.45 / 4.00 |
| A+ (3cr) + A (3cr) + A (3cr) | 4.10 / 4.00 — GSU counts A+ as 4.30 |
| A (3cr) + A− (3cr) + B+ (3cr) | 3.66 / 4.00 — truncated, not 3.67 |
| A (3cr) + WF (3cr) | 2.00 / 4.00 — a WF costs the same as an F |
Georgia State is part of the University System of Georgia, and the USG scale has one unusual feature: an A+ is worth 4.30 grade points, not 4.00. It is the only value in the table above 4.00, and it is what allows a strong term average to print higher than a perfect 4.0.
Every other grade steps down in tenths from there: A is 4.00, A− is 3.70, B+ is 3.30, running down to a D at 1.00. That tenth-point step is tighter than the more common 4.0 table, where A− is 3.67 and B+ is 3.33 — so a GSU average is not directly comparable with a school that uses the other table, even though both say "4.0 scale".
| Counts toward the GPA | No numerical value — excluded |
|---|---|
| A+, A, A−, B+, B, B−, C+, C, C−, D | I (incomplete) and IP (in progress) |
| F | W (withdrawal) and WM (military withdrawal) |
| WF (withdrew failing) — scored 0.00, exactly like an F | S (satisfactory) and U (unsatisfactory) |
| Every attempt of a repeated course | V (audit), K (credit by examination), NR (not reported) |
The cumulative GPA divides the grade points earned by the credit hours scheduled in all courses attempted for which a grade of A, B, C, D, F or WF was received. Institutional credit — credit awarded for work outside normal coursework — never affects the GPA.
The USG system calculates the GPA to and truncates at two significant digits. A raw 3.6667 is recorded as 3.66, never 3.67. As at Drexel, truncation only bites when you are hovering on a threshold — but when it bites, it does so silently, and nobody will flag it for you.
Georgia's HOPE Scholarship does not use plus/minus grades. USG policy states explicitly that the University of Georgia and Georgia State shall not apply plus or minus grades when calculating the HOPE grade point average — only the A, B, C, D or F value of each course is used.
So the same transcript can produce a 3.66 institutional GPA and a different HOPE GPA. If you are checking eligibility against the HOPE threshold, recalculate without the modifiers instead of reading the number off your transcript.
| Status | Cumulative GPA |
|---|---|
| Good standing | 2.00 or above |
| Warning / probation | Below 2.00, with conditions set by the college |
| Graduation minimum | 2.00, with some programmes requiring more |
Individual colleges — the Robinson College of Business and the Byrdine F. Lewis College of Nursing and Health Professions among them — apply higher standards for admission to competitive majors, typically around a 3.0. The 2.00 line is the university-wide floor, not the bar for a selective programme.
The grade-point table, the A+ = 4.30 designation, the truncation rule, the treatment of WF and the exclusion of I, IP, W, WM, S, U, V, K and NR all come from the Georgia State University Office of the Registrar grading pages and from Section 3.5 of the University System of Georgia Board of Regents Policy Manual. The HOPE Scholarship exclusion of plus/minus grades is stated in the same USG policy section.
GSU multiplies the grade points of each letter grade by the course's credit hours, adds those products together, then divides by the total credit hours attempted. The scale is set by the University System of Georgia, and the result is truncated to two decimals.
Yes. Georgia State is expressly permitted by USG policy to use an A+ designation with a value of 4.30 grade points — the only grade above 4.00 in the scale. That is why a term made up of A+ and A grades can average above 4.00.
Yes, exactly as much as an F. A WF (withdrew failing) carries 0.00 grade points and is included in both the attempted hours and the grade-point calculation, unlike a plain W, which is excluded entirely.
USG policy specifies that the grade point average is calculated to and truncated at two significant digits. A raw 3.6667 is recorded as 3.66. Rounding would give 3.67, so a rounded figure will usually read a hundredth high.
No. USG policy states that Georgia State and the University of Georgia shall not use plus/minus grades in the calculation of the HOPE Scholarship GPA. Only the A, B, C, D and F value of each course is counted, so your HOPE GPA can differ from your institutional GPA.
I (incomplete), IP (in progress), W (withdrawal), WM (military withdrawal), S (satisfactory), U (unsatisfactory), V (audit), K (credit by examination) and NR (not reported) all have no numerical equivalent and are excluded from the calculation entirely.